section title

Services Details
Forensic Service Providers
Forensic Service Providers Accreditation Department
According to International Standard ISO/IEC 17025, ISO/IEC 17020, and ILAC G19

EGAC the first accreditation body in Arab world and the Middle East Also, the second AB in Africa to begin provided accreditation of forensic service providers, offering accreditation of forensic testing and inspection services to standards ISO/IEC 17025, ISO/IEC 17020, and ILAC G19.

Forensic testing and/or inspection services can be provided by:

  • Crime laboratories for Ministry of the Interior
  • Environmental testing laboratories
  • Law enforcement agencies
  • Animal drug testing laboratories
  • Forensic Medical examiner Justice Ministry
  • Academic organizations


EGAC accreditation program aims to be effective, efficient, and transparent in delivering our services. We are impartial in decision making and regularly monitor our performance, always looking for ways to improve. We treat everyone we deal with fairly and with courtesy and respect. We protect privacy and confidentiality every step of the way.


EGAC Supporting the criminal justice system through the accreditation of testing, examination and scene of crime activity, where is EGAC accreditation determines the technical competence and impartiality of forensic organizations delivering testing and inspection services to the Criminal Justice System.


EGAC accreditation programs consider the conformance, competence, and effectiveness of the overall management system when granting accreditation. where is the accreditation is based on an assessment of forensic service providers agency’s technical qualifications and competence for conducting specific testing, the validity, and suitability of methods, the appropriateness of equipment and facilities, the ongoing assurance through internal quality control and/or inspection activities within the scope of ISO/IEC 17025 or ISO/IEC 17020 and any relevant field-specific standards.


EGAC accreditation of Forensic service providers involves independent, unbiased assessment of the Forensic service provider’s facilities to determine competence, impartiality, and consistent operation. Specialist assessors with relevant experience in Forensic science conduct an assessment of the Forensic service provider’s facility, its management system, processes, facilities, personnel, and other essential elements of its operation to determine if it meets the requirements listed in the standards. Based on information and reports provided by all of assessment teams. Also, a separate decision-making process under the accreditation body determines whether to grant accreditation.


Once a Forensic service provider’s granting accreditation, they are periodically re-evaluated by two assessment visits to ensure that the Forensic service providers are maintaining the necessary competencies and continue to meet the relevant requirements.


Each accreditation cycle includes the initial on-site assessment for accreditation followed by two regular surveillance activities to assess continued compliance with accreditation requirements. All the forensic agencies are truly in compliance with the appropriate ISO standards.

ILAC G-19, Guidelines for Forensic Science Laboratories that there is a single document, that deals with the forensic science process as a whole, and that it provides common guidance for both ISO/IEC 17020 and ISO/IEC 17025 in areas where the activities overlap. Providing guidance is further complicated because there is no clear and consistent distinction in forensic practice between the activities conducted at a scene of crime and those conducted in a forensic laboratory, nor is there always a clear and consistent distinction in the administrative location of personnel involved in the activities. Thus, testing may be conducted at a scene and general examination of materials recovered from a scene may be conducted in a forensic laboratory. Equally staff conducting scene of crime examinations may be part of the forensic laboratory or may be located within a separate administrative entity.


The customer here differs from any other accreditation standards it is normally the organization and/or a person asking the forensic unit to perform all or a specific part of the forensic science process. This also includes the term ‘client’. This may be an internal customer. If work is requested via legal mandate (e.g., court order) or if the results of examination/testing are to be provided to a member of the judicial system, then the judicial system may be considered to be the customer.


Areas currently accredited by EGAC include DNA Fingerprinting ‘ISO/IEC 17025-General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories’, Also, Autopsy, Forensic Histopathology, Examination of Victims / Assailants of Violence Cases, Scene of crime examination is accredited under ‘ISO/IEC 17020: Requirements for the operation of various types of bodies performing inspection’.


Egyptian Accreditation Council (EGAC) is Recognized of ISO/IEC 17020 and ISO/IEC 17020 by International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC), Arab Accreditation Cooperation (ARAC) and African Accreditation Cooperation (AFRAC).


Accreditation According to ISO/IEC 17020 and ISO/IEC 17020 Requirements by EGAC in Inspection Bodies is Internationally Recognized by International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC), Continentally by African Accreditation Cooperation (AFRAC) and Regionally by Arab Accreditation Cooperation (ARAC).