section title

Services Details
Testing Laboratories
Testing Laboratories Accreditation Department
According to International Standard ISO/IEC 17025

Accreditation of testing laboratories is a means of determining the technical competence of laboratories to perform specific types of testing.


It also provides formal recognition to competent laboratories, thus providing a ready means for customers to identify and select reliable testing services able to meet their needs.


Testing laboratories are assessed by Egyptian Accreditation Council (EGAC) according to the international standard ISO/IEC 17025 to assess factors relevant to a laboratory’s ability to produce accurate testing result, including the:

  • Technical competence of employees
  • Suitability, calibration and maintenance of test equipment.
  • The appropriate environment in which the test is conducted.
  • Sampling, handling and transportation of test items.
  • Quality assurance of test.

To maintain this accreditation, laboratories are assessed periodically by Egyptian Accreditation Council (EGAC) according to ISO/IEC 17025 to ensure their continued compliance with standard requirements and EGAC’s requirements. The laboratories are also required to participate in relevant proficiency testing programs as a further demonstration of technical competence.


Egyptian Accreditation Council (EGAC) can provide accreditation for:

  • Facilities undertaking any sort of testing.
  • Private or government laboratories.
  • One-person operations or large multi-disciplinary organizations.
  • Remote field operations and permanent laboratories.


Egyptian Accreditation Council (EGAC) is Recognized of ISO/IEC 17025 by International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC), Arab Accreditation Cooperation (ARAC) and African Accreditation Cooperation (AFRAC).


Accreditation According to ISO/IEC 17025 Requirements by EGAC in Testing Laboratories is Internationally Recognized by International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC), Continentally by African Accreditation Cooperation (AFRAC) and Regionally by Arab Accreditation Cooperation (ARAC).